Vegan Chocolate & Hazelnut Smoothie

Processed with VSCO with t1 presetAuthor Bio: Hiya, my name is Ines. I am a sport and exercise science university student and personal trainer. I am very passionate about all things wellness, health and fitness related. I am always on the hunt for a good coffee shop and sunshine! My blog is my happy place where I share all my thoughts and passions, where I get freaky and inspired! Join me @ines_castro88 for vegan and lifestyle inspo.

I never thought I could love a smoothie this much!
Today I am sharing with you my favourite smoothie recipe which has easily become one of my raw breakfasts.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
I have shared it with a few people (non-vegan) and they all love it and get really surprised when I tell them it is completely raw and vegan.

There is probably a similar recipe out on the internet, but until I find it, I will remain very proud of myself for creating this dreamy drink! It is super easy and quick to make and it tastes incredible…almost like Nutella!

unnamed-4.jpg

You will need:

1 small/medium frozen banana

2 pitted dates

4 hazelnuts (also good with almonds)

1/2 cup of raw fine oats

1 very full tsp of raw cocoa powder

Blend everything together with about 1 1/2 cups of water, although you can adjust the amount of water depending on how thick you want your smoothie.

Pro Tip: After I blend all my ingredients the smoothie is quite runny, so I  leave it on the fridge for about 5-10 minutes before drinking. This will make the smoothie thicker and creamier due to the oats we added.

If you find that your blender does not completely blend the dates, leaving chunky bits at the bottom of your cup, try to soak the dates in warm water before making your smoothie. I highly recommend making the smoothies with raw cocoa powder and not any chocolate drink powder as it won’t have that crisp sweet and bitter taste of cocoa.

I hope you have a go at this easy raw smoothie, it is a great way to incorporate raw meals into your diet. Let me know your thoughts in the comments, thank you so much for reading!

Lots of love,

Ines x

Leave a Reply

